Some random thoughts during The Blizzard of ’11

As I sit here in my study, I can look out my windows and see that the snow is beginning to come down sideways. It is now 9 a.m., and in the last three hours I would estimate we have gotten about four inches. The roadcrews are obviously focusing now on the major highways as well they should. I know because our residential street, which they usually keep clear, now has a thin sheet of ice covered with several inches of snow and it is accumulating quickly.

I have never hidden my admiration for former Missouri Gov. Matt Blunt. He was, in my opinion, a fine governor. He was brutalized by Missouri’s liberal news media for not expanding welfare and other costly social programs. Given the financial challenges now facing the state, can you imagine how bad it would be if we had spent the millions of dollars the liberals wanted Blunt to spend?

Interestingly I ran across this quote by Gov. Blunt that made me giggle: “I am not aware of any welfare benefits that have been restored since I left office. The old welfare system must have been as unaffordable as I said it was at the time.”

Thinking about Matt Blunt reminded me of another old friend, the former governor of Tennessee, Don Sundquist. I was sitting in my editor’s office at The Columbia (Tenn.) Daily Herald one day when the phone rang.

“Don, this is Beth from the governor’s press office. He wanted me to call you and ask if you could come up to the mansion for dinner Thursday night.”

“Why, I think I can fit that into my schedule,” I joked. “What should I wear?”

“It is strictly casual,” Beth said.

“Will it be just the governor and me?”

“No,” said Beth. “He’s invited a few other friends. Would you like to know who else will be there?”

“Yes,” I replied.

“Dayton 500 champion Sterling Marlin and his father Coo Coo, George Jones and his wife, and the Commissioner of Safety and his wife,” Beth said.

“George Jones? You mean THE George Jones? The Possum?” I gasped.

“Yes,” Beth replied with a laugh.

Needless to say, it was a memorable experience and one of the artifacts I have here in my study is a group photo of all of us in the living room of the governor’s mansion in Nashville.

Swiss Miss hot chocolate is pretty good. Even got a few marshmellows in it. It’s ok made with water, but it’s better with milk.

So much for freedom of speech and thought. So much for diversity. Washington University in St. Louis ought to be ashamed of itself. It cancelled a scheduled address by Sarah Palin’s daughter, Bristol. She was to deliver an address on abstinence education later this month in conjunction with the university’s “Sexual Responsibility Week.” Sme liberal Wash U students protested, arguing the message of the observance would be overshadowed by “controversy” if Bristol Palin spoke. So much for open and diversity of thought.

Turns out one of the groups opposing Palin’s appearance was led y Kate Walsh, a member of Planned Parenthood’s board of directors. Planned Parenthood is America’s largest provider of taxpayer-funded abortions.

“Welcome to the idiocracy … please join students at Wash U to boycott Bristol Palin’s speech on abstinence,” Walsh tweeted. “What does she know about college or abstaining?”

Thing maybe a single mom might have something enlightening to say on the subject?

I’ve reported, you decide.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

